Argo and Daniel Day-Lewis the big Oscar winners

GENEVA, SWITZERLAND – The Oscars came and went Sunday night 24 February with all their usual glamour and gushing, leaving the film “Argo” with the statue for best film and Daniel Day-Lewis with the best actor award – the third time for the famously publicity-shy British-Irish actor: he also won the Oscar for Christy Brown in My Left Foot (1989), Daniel Plainview in There Will Be Blood (2007).

The 2013 winners:

Best movie: Argo Grant Heslov, Ben Affleck and George Clooney, Producers

Best actor in a leading role: Daniel Day-Lewis Lincoln

Best actress: Jennifer Lawrence Silver Linings Playbook

Best actor in a supporting role: Christoph Waltz Django Unchained

Best actress in a supporting role: Anne Hathaway Les Misérables

Best animated movie: Brave Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman

Best documentary: Searching for Sugar Man, Malik Bendjelloul and Simon Chinn

For the complete list, speeches and other details, head straight to the source, the Academy Awards Oscars site